Thursday, February 18, 2016

(The Illegal Leap) From 10 to 28

Here's the map of South Sudan established at the time of its independence in 2011.  Note that it has 10 States.

The embattled government of S.Sudan, which has been struggling with various armed rebel groups for two years, has recently decided to split the country into 28 States instead. This has caused an uproar and brought the peace negotiations to a halt.  The rebels claim, with substantial cause, that the gerrymandering is illegal and that it heavily favors the dominant Dinka tribe, to the political detriment of all other tribes.

No comments:

Post a Comment